Home > Chess Books > Chess Books by Publisher > Gambit >

World Champion at the Third Attempt - Grigory Sanakoev
World Champion at the Third Attempt - Grigory Sanakoev

Our Price: £15.99
Sale Price: £5.00

Quantity in Stock:6
Product Code: CB00936

Product Description
World Champion at the Third Attempt by Grigory Sanakoev
59 Chess Masterpieces by a Correspondence World Champion

Paperback, 256 pages

It is rare that a Correspondence World Champion annotates a collection of the finest games from his career with detailed notes that penetrate deeply into the analytical and decision-making process. Yet this is precisely what Grigory Sanakoev (12th World Correspondence Champion, 1985-92) has done, and the result is a book packed with entertainment and instructive value, ideal for study by ambitious players.

Sanakoev's style of play, though as well-rounded as one world expect from a World Champion, tends towards the brilliant, with sacrifice attacks featuring in many of his games. As these attacks have had to stand up to the most scrupulous analysis, the reader will develop a feel for when an attack is sound, and when it is too speculative.

Besides the analytical tests he presents, Sanakoev packs a great deal of general chess wisdom into these pages, often featuring pertinent quotes from the greats of chess.

About the Author
Grigory Sankoev has been playing top-level correspondence chess for more than thirty years, culminating in his victory in the 12th Correspondence World Championship (1985-92), following high places in the 6th and 10th Championships. He is a chemist by profession and comes from Voronezh in southern Russia.


ISBN-13: 978-1901983111, Gambit

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Chess Books > Chess Books by Publisher > Gambit
Chess Books
Chess Books > Biographical
Chess Books > Chess Books by Publisher
Chess Books > Chess Book SALE